RSS Feed

Menu Plan 13.0

Week 13:

SundayChicken Fried Steak w/Gravy – I found this recipe in the November edition of Food Network Magazine. It is a recipe from one of my most fave chefs, Ree Drummond (the Pioneer Woman) so I knew that I HAD to try it!  I love that it is true comfort food.  Especially when served with mashed potatoes and steamed corn.  Yum!  ** Don’t skip the tenderizing step! It seems like an easy thing to skip over but don’t.  This will prevent the meat from getting too tough.  Also, make sure that you are using your silicone whisk when making the gravy directly in the pan.  🙂

Monday–  Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken. This recipe is a classic recipe from AllRecipes.  I haven’t made this recipe in a while but it is a tried and true recipe that I always seem to come back to.   With the lemon and garlic, it has a fresh light taste.   Especially for a slow cooker recipe, which in my opinion, generally tend to be heavier.  Remember to use fresh lemon juice (not bottled!).  It makes a big difference.  Substituting bottled lemon juice can leave a fake lemon taste. 

Tuesday–  General Tsao Chicken –  This is such an easy weeknight meal.  I cut up 3 chicken breasts into pieces and cook in the wok with olive oil until no longer pink.  Dump an entire bottle of Trader Joe’s General Tsao sauce.  Add red, orange and yellow peppers (1/2 of each pepper) cut into skinny strips, cook until tender, add jasmine rice (already cooked). Voila.  Easy, delicious AND cheap.

Wednesday– Slow Cooker Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup – I love love love tomato basil soup.  This is such a fantastic recipe (I found this recipe on a great site called Today’s Mama).  My initial pull to try it was that it was a slow cooker recipe.  I am always on a quest for good slow cooker recipes. I love to serve Tomato Basil soup with croutons on top and sometimes I will add rice for a twist.  Delish!

Thursday– Spicy Bean and Cheese Burrito – I found this recipe last month in Rachel Ray’s magazine.  This is a fantastic mid-week recipe!  It’s quick.  It’s easy.  The added bonus is that it gives you a little break from meat.   I do not change anything about this recipe.  Perfect as is.  🙂

Friday– Take a break, will ya?  Order in.

Saturday–  Baked Shrimp and Feta – This recipe by Rachel Ray had me at feta.  Seriously.  If the recipe title has the word ‘feta’ in it, I either have tried or will try it.   This recipe is so simple to make.  Serve with angel hair pasta and a salad.  

Don’t forget to click on the link below to use the printable grocery list!  This will help keep you on track as you shop.  Hope this helps streamline your grocery store trips! The goal is for you to go to the store ONCE this week. Save time. Save $$.

Grocery List Template

and as always, here is your menu planning template to print out, write your menu and stick on your fridge.  It is super cute!!

Menu Planning Template

Happy cooking!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

Leave a comment