RSS Feed

Menu Plan 15.0

Week 15:

Okay, I admit it… I have failed all of you, my faithful followers.  I had BIG plans to help you as you approached the Holiday season (cookie recipes/holiday dinner recipes/desserts) but life became crazy busy and something had to give.  The blog was the first to go BUT I am back on track.  As we approach the New Year, I wish you all a year filled with peace, happiness, health, love and of course good food. 🙂

(For my new followers, click on the name of the recipe (not the pic) to get to the recipe details.)

Sunday – Beef Carnitas Tacos. This recipe by Cooking Light is soooooo fantastic.  It is a little more complicated.  Good for a Sunday meal.  You do have to make the Beef Carnitas first to use for this recipe.  You can buy beef carnitas already prepared at the store if you need/want to save time.  I have bought the beef from Trader Joes and it is really good.

Monday–  Happy New Year’s Eve!!   Hopefully, you are going to spend the evening with loved ones.  If you are going out for dinner… enjoy!!  If you are staying in… I highly recommend a decadent night of king crab legs w/real melted butter, scallops (sautéed in garlic/butter) and shrimp cocktail.  (my mouth is watering)  Click on the link below for more info on how to buy/cook crab legs.

How to cook crab legs??

Tuesday–   Happy New Year!!  I am going to be adding healthier recipes to the weekly menu blog so that we can have a better balance in our diets.  I have been guilty of adding ‘not so healthy’ recipes that we love to the blog and I still will but I am striving to create healthier dishes.  This may mean that I will alter a recipe to make it healthy and will give you the tips/changes or I will post healthy recipes that I have tested as is.  

Wednesday– Black beans and Chicken Breasts – This AllRecipes dish is actually for pork chops but I am recommending that you substitute chicken breasts for the pork chops for an even healthier twist.  This is such an incredibly easy, healthy one pot meal that I keep coming back to again and again.  

Thursday– Chip-Crusted Fish Fillets.   This is a crazy easy but delicious mid-week meal by Cooking Light.  It is only 5 ingredients!  It calls for Canola mayonnaise.  I had olive oil mayo and it worked just fine.  I also don’t do light Ranch.  A 1/2 cup of ranch is crazy bad for you so I just used a tiny bit to dip the fish in.  The fish has so much flavor as is.  I personally love salt and vinegar chips so I loved that crunchy taste on my fish but if that flavor is too strong for you, try another flavor chip!  

Friday–  Take a break from all this cooking night!!!  Eat leftovers, go to dinner, make someone else cook, something, anything!!  🙂

Saturday–   French Three Onion Soup.   This soup from Food Network takes a bit of work but is well worth it.  It is a far healthier version than my original post for French Onion Soup a couple of months ago.  Per serving, this soup has 317 calories, 10.5 g of fat and  357 mg of sodium.  As a crazy point of reference, my original recipe packed 618 calories per serving, 36 g of fat and 3433 mg of sodium.  Yikes.  Double yikes.  Try this one for a MUCH healthier version.  

Don’t forget to click on the link below to use the printable grocery list!  This will help keep you on track as you shop.  Hope this helps streamline your grocery store trips! The goal is for you to go to the store ONCE this week. Save time. Save $$.

Grocery List Template

and as always, here is your menu planning template to print out, write your menu and stick on your fridge.  It is super cute!!

Menu Planning Template

Happy New Year and happy cooking!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

