RSS Feed

Holiday Cooking 3.0 (Side Dishes!)

Happy ‘almost’  Thanksgiving!  The count down to Thanksgiving continues.  Today’s blog is focused on the often pushed to the side but NEVER overlooked side dish.  Raise your hand if you could eat a whole plate of sides and ditch the Turkey… I’m typing with one hand now. 🙂   Here are a few of my favorite side dishes.  I love these recipes because they comfort, they aren’t complex and remind me of a traditional Thanksgiving filled with familiarity.  I just don’t like to venture to outside the norm on this day of all days.

  1. Scalloped Corn – I love a simple recipe sometimes.  I am a proponent of mixing complex recipes with the more simple recipes so that I’m not losing my mind doing twelve things at once.  This recipe from allrecipes has very few ingredients, very little prep time and is always a crowd pleaser.   ***Note-I do leave out the sugar.  This recipe just doesn’t need it.  Especially if you are using a boxed corn bread such as Jiffy.  In my opinion, there is enough sugar already in boxed corn bread.
  2. Mashed Potatoes – Ok, so we all know how to make mashed potatoes, right??  Well, there are mashed potatoes and there are MASHED POTATOES.  This recipe from the Pioneer Woman is crazy good.  Sooooo unhealthy .. I mean filled with the yummiest of ingredients.  Wow.  Really.  All I can say is wow.
  3. Stuffing –  This recipe from cooks.com is one of my favorites because I love a stuffing recipe that includes sausage and yummy fall spices like sage and thyme.    This takes a bit of prep work but is worth every second!
  4. Creamed Spinach – This recipe makes me feel like maybe I’m getting something green and healthy on Thanksgiving.  Although it is doused in so much creaminess that I’m sure it’s being canceled out but let’s not talk about that. 🙂
  5. Sweet Potato Casserole – This allrecipe recipe is so decadent that every time I eat it, I question if it should be a side dish or a dessert.  It is truly like eating a yummy dessert.  I ALWAYS go back for second helpings of this and there is never any left after everyone has gone home.  I don’t make any changes to this recipe.
  6. Cheesy Potatoes – This is the ultimate in comfort food.   This recipe was given to me by my bestie. Crazy easy.  I do heat the potatoes in the microwave for about 10 minutes before mixing with the other ingredients and if you really want to get crazy, top the casserole with corn flakes to add a little crunch.

Good grief.  I need to get the gym quick.  I need to bank about 3,000 calories for Thursday.  Is that possible?  🙂

Stay tuned!  Tomorrow’s blog… Desserts!!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

