RSS Feed

Whisking the night away.

Whisking the night away.

When I did my ‘must have’ kitchen tools list a couple of weeks ago, I realized that I had whisks on the list but hadn’t really talked about them before.  So here we go….

Whisks are a wonder tool in the kitchen.  They combine ingredients in a way that a spoon just won’t do.  Trust me on this one. I am sure many of you have whisks but ask yourself the following:

  1. Am I using it? or is it just sitting pretty in your drawer or tool crock?
  2. Is my tried and true whisk ick?  Take a look at your whisk.  Seriously.  Get up and go look right now :).  Do you see rust in the crevices?  Are the wires looking wonky?  If yes, toss that baby in the trash right now and read on for my recommendations.

Types of whisks:

  • Metal– Please don’t be wooed by the cheap cheap cheap whisks that every retailer is selling.  While they are functional, you are risking rust and corrosion due the lower grade metals.  Who wants rust and corrosion anywhere near food?  Gross.   Look for stainless steel.  You also want to look for whisks that don’t have a tightly wrapped wires (very difficult to clean).  I love the stainless steel balloon whisk from Williams Sonoma.  It retails between $12.95 and $14.00 depending on the length.  It is easy to hold, dishwasher safe and 18/10 stainless steel. It may seem a little pricey for a whisk but it will last.  Honorable mention:  The OXO stainless steel whisk sold at Target.  It retails for $9.99 and has an incredibly comfortable handle made of santoprene.
  • Silicone – My personal fave!  I love that you can whisk right in the saucepan/fry pan.  My absolute favorite whisk is the Kenmore Silicone whisk from Kmart (also available at Sears) for $9.99.  The silicone covered wires are great!  No scratching pans.  Dishwasher safe/Easy to clean.  Safe for up to 500 degrees so no melting worries. Honorable mention:  The OXO Silicone whisk sold at Target for $11.99.  Dishwasher safe.  Comfortable handle.

Uses for whisks:

  • My typical M.O. is to use my metal whisk when I am mixing something in a bowl and my silicone whisk whenever heat is involved (melting chocolate, making sauces on the stove, making scrambled eggs, etc.)  Fun tip:  I mix my scrambled eggs right in the pan!  No need to dirty a separate bowl if you have  silicone whisk!  Brilliant!

Caring for your whisk:

  • Metal –  It is imperative that after washing you let your whisk completely dry.  There are so many crevices.  This is why I prefer to use a dishwasher safe whisk so that I can feel confident that the crevices are clean and have been heated to a high temperature to kill bacteria.
  • Silicone – Food is less apt to stick in the crevices but I still prefer to run mine through the dishwasher.

Happy mixing everyone!!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

