RSS Feed

All choked up.

All choked up.

Why am I so intimidated by a little green spiky vegetable?  I am though.  It’s true.  I love to eat them.  They’re kinda cool to look at… but there they sit right now, on my counter, staring at me.  Stupid Artichokes.  How do I cut them? How many layers do you peel off?  Whats with the fuzzy part in the center?  What happens if you accidentally eat that?  What’s the best way to cook?  How exactly do you eat the these things again?  Good grief.  Why do I do this to myself?  Because they were $1.00 a piece at the store and I like them when someone else cooks them so why not me?  I can do this.  I can’t do this.  Chef Karla on one shoulder.  Not-so-much-a-Chef Karla on the other.

So, I dug out my steamer basket and off to the internet I went.  This was the best step by step that I found for how to cut the artichokes to prep them for steaming:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes-and-cooking/how-to-trim-baby-artichokes/pictures/index.html

Now comes the steaming.  I ended up modifying a recipe from All Recipes.  I don’t like a lemony artichoke so after cutting the artichoke I put crushed garlic and a tiny bit of butter between the leaves and then sat them upright in the steamer basket.  Added water to the base and away they steamed.  I steamed them for about 45 minutes (until a knife went thru the center easily).

Appearance:  Good

Taste:  Meh

ROI (Return on Investment): Minimal.  Way too much time and effort for an okay result.

Conclusion (from both Eric and I):   Probably not going to happen again.

What a negative post this was.   Trust me when I say, I am sure that this was user error.  So please comment, add tips, add tricks, help me master this crazy veggie.

Until then…. Did you hear that pop?  That was the sound of my lovely little jar of marinated artichoke hearts popping open for the salad I am going to make.  🙂

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

One response »

  1. They should be charged with killing a perfectly good artichoke. Jen and I eat thrn all the time. Cut the stem off, cut a little off the time. put upside down in a corning ware dish . put in a little water and cook for 7 to 9 minutes. I melt butter and lemon together and use it as a dip for each leaf. scrap the big leaves across you teeth to get the meat. we fight over the heart and use a spoon to scrap off the fuzz. very simple and delicious teehee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

