RSS Feed

Simplify it.

I have had a few requests to review garlic presses but when I really sat and thought about it, I have yet to meet a garlic press, or any garlic gadget for that matter, that has impressed me thus far.  I do own a garlic press, two actually.  They have lived their long life happily in my drawer virtually untouched.  We love garlic.  I always keep it on hand and probably cook with it at least twice per week.  I have found that grabbing my handy-dandy chef’s knife is far more efficient than reaching for the garlic press.  My husband may give you a different answer.  He absolutely hates when I make 40 Garlic Chicken (thank you Heidi for that most amazing recipe) and I plop down a huge bag of garlic and ask him to peel 40 cloves.   His biggest complaint is all of the garlic ‘skin’ all over the place.  My biggest complaint with garlic presses is that they are difficult to get completely clean and tend to get clogged.   So instead of reviewing a gadget, I am going to give you a few tips/tricks for getting your garlic recipe ready.

  • Garlic 101–  Garlic comes in BULBS, with 10-20 CLOVES on the inside.  Very important to understand the difference when cooking.
  • Getting to the Clove– Don’t treat the bulb with kid gloves (what does that term really mean anyway).  Smash it hard.  Use the palm of your hand (OUCH-or use your significant other’s hand).  Use a meat tenderizer.  Use a hammer.  A rock.  You get the drift.
  • The Dreaded Skin– Take your chef knife (reason 432 to own a good chef’s knife), turn it on its side with the clove underneath, press down hard on the clove and then peel the skin off.
  • Slicing/Mincing– Slice the root and tip off (the ends) and slice lengthwise. Sprinkle a little salt (to prevent the garlic from sticking to the knife) and continue chopping until you have reached the texture/size you need for your recipe.

With all of this said, I did find a really cool video of an alternative way to get the cloves ready to use (link below).  I have not tried this yet.  I am completely fascinated and will be trying it soon.  In the interim, let me know what works for you!

How to Peel a Head of Garlic in Less Than 10 Seconds?

Wow, I just did an anti-gadget gadget blog.  Really didn’t see that coming.  Happy mincing everyone!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

5 responses »

  1. I love the Rachel Ray trick of using a microplane grater when I need “little” garlic, but just used the “slam and chop” with my chef’s knife tonight for larger pieces. I’ve got to get me some of those stainless steel bowls so I can try the trick from the link you provided. My Chicken with 40 Garlic will be SO much easier!

    p.s. I’d love to hear what you have to say about microplane graters 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment Lisa! I am really curious to try the bowl trick. I’m wondering how hard you really have to shake the bowls. I’ll let you know if it really works. -Karla

      P.S. I just added microplanes to my upcoming blog topic list. Great idea!

      Reply
  2. Thanks. I bought garlic and had no idea how to use it! Great timing

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on mincedreviews and commented:

    In honor of National Garlic Day, I thought I would repost this blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

