RSS Feed

Brush it off!

I am finding inspiration everywhere.  Literally.  I was brushing a marinade on our fish for dinner and thought to myself, what a great little brush.  I thought back to my old irritating brush and realized I need to make sure that everyone knows about the giant advance in pastry brushes.  Silicone!   My original pastry brush had natural bristles, food stuck on, constantly shedding, irritatingly gloppy NATURAL BRISTLES.  I was forever grossed out and irritated.  That was until I met my beautiful silicone brush.  I acknowledge that if you are true pastry chef the silicone brush is not quite delicate enough but for those of us aren’t pastry chefs silicone rocks.  Pastry brushes are also available with nylon bristles.  Nylon is a close second to silicone.  The issue that most people have with silicone and nylon is that they don’t retain as much liquid so you have to keep going back to the well, so to speak.  I am ok with that. Given that, in return, I have a completely clean and intact brush every time I pull it out of my drawer.  I love love love the OXO silicone pastry brush.  It has finer silicone bristles than most, dishwasher safe and doesn’t feel like it is going to go flying out of my hand when I get marinade or melted butter on the handle.  You can find the OXO pastry brush for @$7-$10 at retailers such as Target,  Bed Bath and Beyond and online at Amazon.com.

Happy Basting!!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

