RSS Feed

A cup is not a cup is not a cup.

When I first started buying Kitchenware,  a vendor was presenting their products to me (namely measuring cups).  Dry measuring cups. Liquid measuring cups.  I thought to myself, a cup is a cup is a cup, right?  Well, sort of.  As I was using my liquid measuring cup this morning to heat water for my oatmeal,  I felt inspired to blog.

  • Liquid measuring cups-The main plus to having a liquid measuring cup is the extra room at the top that prevents overflow/spilling. An example of a liquid measuring cup is shown above.  Pyrex is, by far, the most well-known.  It can be found at most retailers and online.  They should retail for between $5-$8.  If you see it for any more than that, you are paying too much and you should shop around.  Liquid measuring cups are also available in plastic if you prefer.  I do discourage plastic because the plastic material limits what you can do with it  (i.e. you can use glass in the microwave and dishwasher).  I do love the measuring capabilities of the OXO angled cup.  You can see the measurements from the top.  Very cool.  However, I wish that it was available in glass.  (It is available in plastic and metal, with plastic being the most popular).
  • Dry measuring cups-Dry measuring cups allow for precise measuring of dry ingredients.  You are able to level off the top with a straight edge.  Dry measuring cups come in a variety of sizes for this very reason.  While you can still technically use a liquid measuring cup for dry ingredients, it is difficult to get an exact measurement.  You can tap the side but this can cause some dry ingredients to compact, which can result in an inaccurate amount going into your recipe.  This is where my blog will become more opinionated vs. fact based (forewarning).  There is an overwhelming amount of dry ingredient cups out there.  They can range from $8-$50.    I do realize that material preferences plays a part in this.  Some people prefer plastic, while others prefer metal but the bottom line is this:  A dry measuring cup IS a dry measuring cup.  It seems crazy to me to spend more than $20 on measuring cups so I am not going to focus on anything higher than that.  Now that I have that off my chest, let’s get to the details. Here are a few options.  Kenmore (at Kmart) makes excellent metal measuring cups.  I have had mine for @3 yrs and I love them.  They nest inside each other and have magnets in the handle to keep them that way in my drawer (pictured below).  They retail for $14.99. I also own a set of plastic Kitchenaid cups that have held up well.  I have had them for @8 yrs.  The only issue I have is that they don’t stay as well nested as the Kenmore cups.  They are available at multiple retailers such as Target, Amazon and Macy’s (to name a few).  They typically sell for $6-$10.   My honorable mention is for OXO.   They are heavy duty and I love the neoprene handles.  They also nest well but retail a little high.  $20 at retailers like Williams Sonoma, Macy’s and Amazon.
As you can see, measuring cups aren’t quite as simple as they appear.  Hoped this helped clarify the need for two types in your kitchen.  Please add a comment if you have found measuring cups that you love or don’t love that I didn’t mention here.  Please be sure to include why you did or did not like them.  Thanks and happy measuring everyone!

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

4 responses »

  1. I need a new set, so I found this very helpful. My metal set from bed bath and beyond are 10 years old, but the rubberish black handles leave black marks on my hands when I use them….would like to avoid this on my next set.

    Reply
  2. Great information. Love the site

    Reply

Leave a Reply

