RSS Feed

Pucker up buttercup.

It will seem unbelievable but my favorite gadget, that I discovered while being a Kitchenware buyer, is a handheld citrus squeezer.  This thing is the BOMB.   The Hispanic culture has been using these for years and boy was this a well kept secret (or at least a secret from me).  I have been into lemons and limes since I could talk (and I am in no way exaggerating).  The most frustrating thing about needing fresh lemon or lime juice is the mess, the seeds and then to top it off,  when you look at the lemon, you swear 1/2 the juice is still left in there.  This gadget completely squeezes every drop out and filters out the seeds!!!  If you like to make fresh guacamole or lemonade, you must drop what you are doing, stop reading this blog and go get one.  Every single person I have recommended this gadget to has thanked me and feels the same way I do.   Please note the attached picture.  It shows how the lemon should go into the cup.  Your natural inclination is to put it the opposite way, and while it will work OK, it doesn’t squeeze all the juice out.  Make sure you put the halved lemon or lime with the inside pointing down.    For those of you who didn’t drop everything and go get this amazing little gadget, you can find them in the gadget sections of stores like Kmart and Meijer, Hispanic grocery stores as well as higher end stores such as Crate and Barrel and Williams Sonoma.   They are also carried at online sources like Amazon.  They range from $6-$20.  I will tell you though that I have found that the $6 one that I bought works just as well as the pricier ones.  I have had the same one for @3 yrs, I use it all the time and it looks perfect.  Also, they are typically available for lemons and a slightly smaller version for limes.  Wow, that was a lot of info on such a small gadget.  Happy squeezing.

About MincedReviews

I am a former buyer of Kitchenware and Dinnerware for a major US retailer. I am now the owner/blogger extraordinaire of MincedReviews. Hope you enjoy the blog! Thanks for following! Happy cooking!

4 responses »

  1. This little gadget, well….. it’s changed my life! Great advise!

    Reply
    • :). The biggest help is in making the lemon/green olive drink but I didn’t know how to put that in the blog without people thinking we’re weird. It’s soooo good. I still think Kathy should patent it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I have considered buying one for a long time and never got around to it. After your review I definitely will. Thanks for the picture because I definitely would have put the lemon/lime in wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

